Photo : Michel Giroux

The activities of CRISE are based upon the conviction that suicide prevention requires concerted action involving researchers, clinicians, planners and the community. Our projects involve close cooperation between researchers who are aware of intervention needs and organizations working in suicide prevention. At CRISE, the process of developing new projects and decision-making involves a collaborative effort.

Brian Mishara, Ph.D., CRISE Director

General Assembly

The general assembly is the decisional and scientific heart of the centre. It consists of all CRISE members, who have equal weight in decision-making. The assembly elects members for scientific and administrative committees, and votes for research orientations and objectives.

General assembly meetings are also opportunities for researchers, students, professionals and partner organisations to network and share knowledge and preoccupations. In turn, this fosters new research in suicide prevention and end-of-life practices.

Executive Committee

The members appoint representatives to an executive committee, which ensure follow-up of decisions taken in general assembly. Two representatives of practice settings, two researchers and one student are elected by a majority of members in general assembly for a mandate at the executive committee. There are three non-elected members at the executive committee, Director Brian Mishara, Associate Director Cécile Bardon, as well as Geneviève Shields of the Faculté des sciences humaines at UQAM.

These eight representatives assist the director of the Centre and make decisions. These decisions are in turn ratified by the general assembly.

For 2022-2023, the elected members are:

  • Christine Genest, PhD, Université de Montréal
  • Mélanie Vachon, PhD, Université du Québec à Montréal
  • Gabrièle Dubuc, PhD student, Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières
  • Jérôme Gaudreault, Association québécoise de prévention du suicide (AQPS)
  • Kim Boisclair, Regroupement des centres de prévention du suicide du Québec (RCPSQ)

Principal Investigators

A principal învestigator is responsible for coordinating research in one specific research area. They help identify research projects, define needs in research development, ensure the coherence of the research program, recruit new researchers and partners to develop projects in order to develop and transfer knowledge at various ecological levels.


Administration at CRISE is ensured by research agents, a head of documentation centre and an information technician. By ensuring the permanence at CRISE, they help support the realisation of research projects at CRISE.

International Advisory Committee

The advisory committee consists of three world-renowned researchers in suicidology: Martine Bantuelle (Educa Santé, Belgium), Ad Kerkhof (Vrije University, Netherlands) and Vanda Scott (International Association for Suicide Prevention).

The aim of this committee is to offer a larger perspective on current issues and directions in suicidology and suicide prevention.